29
Mar
10

Rumors of Refused Reunion Hopeful, Mostly BS


Refused are kind of a big deal (if you tell yourself that you listen to hardcore and haven’t heard “The Shape of Punk to Come”, you’re kidding yourself), so when I heard rumors of them reuniting, I was ecstatic. However, in my search to find more information on this reformation, my joys were almost immediately put out by the facts.

This rumor started when Epitaph relaunched Refused’s web page with this image:
refused.....not reuniting soon

It’s easy to see how people would see this as the band reuniting. Anyone who’s a fan of Refused has wanted that for a long time (I’d love to see Dennis Lyxzen drag himself out of the ever-dulling cycle he’s put himself in since Refused broke up). But there are a few things that make it seem unlikely:

1. They are contractually obligated to have another release on Epitaph.

2. There was supposed to be a live album in the works that was never released.

3. Lyxzen has denied the reunion because he’s working with a new band “AC4”.

4. All the sources for the rumors are anonymous, aka bullshit.

5. They’ve allegedly been turning down offers to play festivals.

Sure, just because Lyxzen said it isn’t happening isn’t in any way a good point to go off of, but the backing evidence makes it seem more likely that what is “coming soon” is a re-release of “The Shape of Punk to Come” or a live album. Or maybe both in a bundle.

That being said, I’d love to be proven wrong.

Here’s some rockin’ tunes to help get your hopes up:

Dear Raptor Jesus, let there be a Refused reunion before another International Noise Conspiracy album.


8 Responses to “Rumors of Refused Reunion Hopeful, Mostly BS”


  1. 1 AwesomeJoe
    03/30/2010 at 1:31 pm

    While International Noise Conspiracy doesn’t live up to Refused, they’re still a good band. That said, I’d kill to see them reunite and start touring again, but I seriously doubt that will ever happen. AC4, however, sounds promising. I mean, it shows that Dennis still has the ability to do hardcore vox. I just hope the music gets a little less generic and sounds a little more like where Refused left off.

  2. 2 TV's Ross
    03/30/2010 at 1:43 pm

    INC has gotten progressively worse though. I was really into them early on, but that kind of died out. AC4 is nowhere near Refused in any way, but it is nice to hear Dennis in a hardcore-ish setting.

  3. 3 Lou
    03/30/2010 at 2:56 pm

    Nardwuar; You’re laughing Omar at International Noise Conspiracy!!!
    Omar: Yes most people will laugh when you say that name!

  4. 4 AwesomeJoe
    03/30/2010 at 3:28 pm

    The last album is kinda take it or leave it, but everything else is golden. I dig INC. Yeah, AC4 is like a watered down refused cover band. I don’t like it at all, but it has the potential to become something awesome. But that’s probably me being completely hopeful XD

    In other news, Blindside may be coming out with a new album this year.

  5. 5 TV's Ross
    03/30/2010 at 4:34 pm

    That’ll be interesting…I need to find that Blindside video again lol.

  6. 6 AwesomeJoe
    03/31/2010 at 7:51 pm

    Which Blindside video?

  7. 7 TV's Ross
    03/31/2010 at 8:45 pm

    Pitiful. Watched it. Didn’t grab me like it used to. Oh well….time to listen to some Wolves in the Throne Room while I drink and write a paper.


Leave a comment